Just for Aimslee!

One of the biggest craft storage dilemmas is how to store ribbon. I know it was for me. I had it in a huge box, and just kept adding ribbon to it, because I never looked at it because I had to drag the box out! So, needless to say, I had quite a collection.

I bought a tie rack at a thrift store–I didn’t really know what I was going to do with it when I bought it, but I got to thinkin’….and came up with the idea to use it for my ribbon AND dress up my studio at the same time.

Here’s what I did. I put up a hanger, and rigged the rack to hang from it. Then I took about 4-5 lengths of ribbon and put them on a safety pin, and pinned about 4-5 to one of the individual tie holders, and I did it by color. When that was all done, and it took a while, I hung it on the holder and pulled half to one side of the window and the other half to the other side and secured them. As luck would have it, I was at a garage sale and found this big honkin’ flower arrangement, which I thought would look great as a cover for the black box. And Wah-Lah!

Now when I need a piece of ribbon, I just go over to the window and cut me a piece off! I’m using a lot more ribbon in my art nowadays!!!! And I know what I have and don’t have. Win-win situation!!!!!

So, Aimslee(from my Gluebots yahoo group), here’s what I was trying to explain…..

And without further ado, here are pictures of it:

The black box!

The black box!

Ribbon!
Ribbon!
The whole shebang!

The whole shebang!

2 Responses

  1. That’s awesome! Thanks for posting the photos!

    xoxo,
    Aimeslee

  2. Oh Z, that looks so pretty I wouldn’t want to use any of the ribbon for fear of messing it up!

Leave a Reply

