Seattle!

When I got back from Valley Ridge, I started getting ready for Art & Soul in Portland in October.  But before that, I went to spend a few days with my friend, Laura.   One day she took me to Poulsbo, then to Port Townsend–we stamped our brains out one day–and then, you know the drill–we shopped our way down to Portland–and did some more shopping at Collage set up in Embassy’s lobby.  Here’s some pics: 

  This is my room at the Doubletree–I did a Park Sleep & Fly, so they stuck me in the rooms in the back 40.  Nothing spectacular about the room–but they did have Neutrogena products and Wolfgang Puck coffee, and a chocolate chip cookie when I checked in.  I only make mention of this because, due to a mix-up with my accommodations in Portland I had the opportunity to stay at a Red Lion, and the difference in the 2 motels was stark!  The room was just awesome–high beds, attention to detail that just blew me away–especially how they had the towels done up in the bath–oh, and they had Bath & Body works products, and they weren’t stingy with them, either.  I will definitely stay with them again, if I get the opportunity!

 

room-at-doubletree

This was at O’Hare, but no Marie Antionette sightings!let-the-eat-cake

 

bad-blanches-in-poulsboI had to take a picture of this–my mother’s name is Blanche!

Valley Ridge Studio

I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this trip.  I love Wisconsin–not alot of traffic, really green, rolling hills, and quiet.  We met up with Kim and Julie, Kecia’s friends, and had the time of our lives at Nina’s workshop.  I wasn’t real sure about this little jaunt–I’m more a paper artist–and didn’t really know what to take, because I had no idea what we were going to be doing. 

The first day, we made charms with PMC.  I approached it with fear and trepidation, because this one little bitty pack of clay cost $25, so I couldn’t screw it up.  Plus, my daughter back home wanted all the skinny when I got back.  So the pressure was really on!  We learned several of Nina’s techniques.  She was just a wonderful instructor–if you ever get a chance to take one of her workshops, do!  And I loved listening to her accent!

Day 2, we put it all together–well, I did.  Several of the others had already completed several pieces, which is fine.  I am one of the more contemplative artists.  Maybe I do think too much.  But that’s the way I’m hard-wired.

Anyway, not really sure of what I was doing, but Wah-Lah.  Here is my finished necklace!100_0070

Here’s a close-up:

100_00691

Remember, I wasn’t sure about this from the beginning.  But I was very happy with the ending.  It surpassed my wildest dreams.

BFF Visit!!!!!

Then about a week later my BFF, Kecia from New Jersey came a few days before a workshop at Valley Ridge Studios with Nina Bagley.  You know the drill–we shopped–started out at Jackson Square Antique Mall–just an awesome store!  We did some art–well, Kecia did some art–on my wall in my studio!  Now I can’t move–ever!  I’ll post a pic tomorrow when the lighting is better.  You’re gonna love it!  I started on something, but it still needs a lot of work/love, so we’ll save that for later.

We laid up some supplies for our stay in Wisconsin(we stayed at the O’Riley Farm), and swung by the airport to pick up Jean.  Oh, and more shopping on the way!